Voices of Adrenal Fatigue – Need Experience Stories

6 05 2008

Millions of people around the world suffer from some form of adrenal fatigue whether it is Addison’s Disease, Cushing’s Disease, or somewhere in between. Many people probably don’t know they have adrenal fatigue, but are plagued with fatigue that is not cured by sleep. In this fast-paced, high stress world, the World’s citizens are burning out faster, are less able to handle stress; their bodies can’t tackle allergies and illnesses like they could before; their bodies’ hormones are out of balance leading to many health problems; people are more irritable and frazzled when it comes to handling life’s situations.

What’s worse, is that while we (those who know we have a form of adrenal fatigue) suffer and struggle years to heal, the majority of the medical community does not recoginize adrenal fatigue outside the areas of Addison’s Disease and Cushing’s Disease. Many of the world’s people with adrenal fatigue are within the two areas of Addison’s and Cushing’s.

Something needs to be done to raise awareness about this debilitating medical condition. The world and the medical community especially need to be made aware of the seriousness of adrenal fatigue. I came up with a way to do this, but it will require the participation of others who have adrenal fatigue. I thought of collecting people’s stories on their experiences with adrenal fatigue, putting them into a book, and having the book published. The voices of adrenal fatigue sufferers in this book will serve as a shout out, not only to the world, but to the medical community, in hopes of bringing adrenal fatigue into the light. Only when enough voices are heard and adrenal fatigue in the spot light will everyone realize that something needs to be done to help the areas of adrenal fatigue not already addressed.

If you are an adrenal fatigue sufferer, will you help me in this quest by submitting your story for my book? If you are uncertain and scared of submitting your story, I understand. It’s not an easy thing to share part of your life experience with the world. But you must remember that fear is what hinders progress. Progress that desperately needs to be made so that we sufferers can STOP suffering and heal and go on to live normal lives sooner than later. We must work together for this much needed change!!

If you are interested in sending me your stories please leave me a comment or send me an e-mail at: jisoucie@gmail.com.

Thanks and I hope we can help raise adrenal fatigue awareness together!

J.I.

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 03 2009
Judy Jones

I agree with you that awareness on adrenal fatigue needs to be recognized in modern medicine. I feel angry that the last two years of my life have been wasted because I could not find a doctor or resources that could help. Blogging with others, with the same condition as mine, is what brought my attention to adrenal fatigue. Here is my story…

I know there are many women out there that suffer from thyroid problem, yet finding answers for me was difficult. 1 in 5 women will have thyroid problems in their lifetime, yet doctors seem so out of touch. I was diagnosed 3 years ago (at the age of 28) with hashimoto’s thyroiditis (hypothyroidism) after six months of asking different doctors’ opinions. I’m sure it was triggered by over-training, as I was a long distance runner that kept pushing myself.

I felt better a few months after treatment and began running again. After a few months I did a race again, a 25K and bonked two weeks later. Over the next few years, my energy level has fluctuated. Sometimes high (and I loved every minute of it), but many times low. The better I felt the more I would push myself with exercising, which lead to getting sick or bonking again. Eventually, I learned not to push myself too much. But for months it has been hard to even exercise at all. I saw another doctor last year (my primary doctor who is internal medicine doctor), and she could only conclude that I had chronic fatigue syndrome. I felt that this was a fallback answer when they can’t find the real cause of the problem.

Everything I have read so far about adrenal fatigue seems to be similar to my situation. I also have an anxiety disorder, so I already have a history of high cortisol levels. I am quite frustrated that my endocrinologist has not investigated this. For years, I have been telling him, “I still don’t feel the same. Something is not right.” he concluded me to believe that adrenal fatigue are only associated with more common adrenal disorders, like Addison’s Disease and Cushing’s Syndrome. But after communicating with people out there that are going through the same situation as I am, I am finding that I am not alone.

So I just recently went to my endocrinologist and my thyroid and cortisol are “normal”. My old school endo docs don’t believe adrenal fatigue really exist for my condition. I took a saliva test and results came back with depressed cortisol and DHEA level, stage 7 adrenal fatigue.

I spoke to several doctors, here in the Houston area that specialize in adrenal fatigue and hypothyroidism and have an appointment now. I feel very relieved after talking with them. It is a huge shame that adrenal fatigue is in the “gray zone” of science and so, unfortunately, no insurance will cover it and it is quite expensive. But I have no life anymore. I have no energy to go out and do the things I enjoy. I am afraid to make any plans because I never know how I well feel tomorrow. If I can help in anyway to bring awareness to adrenal fatigue, please let me know.

30 03 2012
stephanie

I’d be happy to submit my story. Please leave more details as to how and also if you could, please advise me on the progress of your book thus far as I’m not sure how old your post is. Thanks! Stephanie

Leave a Reply

